How to Block / Unblock Someone on Facebook

Is there someone who is troubling you on Facebook? If someone is giving you a hard time on Facebook, consider blocking them. Blocking someone limits them from viewing things you share on your timeline. You will also not be able see things they post on their timeline. You will not be able to do things like start a Facebook chat or message with that person.

The Facebook block feature creates a list of users that cannot access your friendship pages, comments, pictures, and other content. In addition to the blocked user no longer having access to your profile, the blocking user also loses access to the blocked page.

Additionally, if comments and tags were shared between your accounts, blocking automatically removes them. Blocking someone on Facebook is also fast, quick, and easy to undo.

How to Block Someone on Facebook

To block someone on Facebook, start by heading to the Facebook site and logging in to your account. Once there, navigate to the Privacy Shortcuts tab in the right corner of any Facebook page – the button looks like a question mark.

From here, select the “How do I stop someone from bothering me?” and simply enter the name or email address of the person you wish to block and then confirm your decision by clicking Block.

If you can’t find someone using this method, you can visit the person’s Timeline and select Report/Block from the dropdown and then select the Block option and confirm.

How to Unlblock Someone on Facebook

To unblock someone on Facebook, follow the above blocking procedure to go to How do I stop someone from bothering me? and click View All Blocked Users.

Unblock Someone on Facebook

In the popup you’ll find the list of users that you have blocked by name. Select the “Unblock” link next to their names to confirm your decision to unblock them, and the user will be unblocked immediately.

Unblocked users are not notified that they have been unblocked, but will be able to access your page again.

Blocking on iPhone and Android

Blocking Facebook users on your Android or iOS (iPhone, iPad, iPod touch) is just as simple. Open the official Facebook app and go to the person’s profile you want to block. Tap more and then from popup tap Block.

If you have any other mobile device, navigate to Facebook mobile with the m.facebook.com address and login to your account. The mobile blocking manger works identically to the non-mobile version of Facebook, allowing you to follow the same steps to unblock users.

Keep in mind that blocking someone on Facebook does not block them from contacting you on third party applications that use Facebook login services. If you want to block a user on a different site that uses a Facebook login, you’ll have to do so directly through that service.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *