If you decide that you no longer want to use your Twitter account, you can deactivate it and then delete it permanently. Deactivating puts your account in a queue for permanent deletion from Twitter. Once your Twitter account is deleted, you will not be able to recover it.
When deactivated, your Twitter account, including your display name, username, and public profile, will no longer be viewable on Twitter. You can not deactivate your Twitter account from your iOS (iPhone, iPad) or Android devices, it can only be done by accessing Twitter on the web.
Delete Twitter Account
1. Sign in to Twitter on the web.
2. Click Settings and privacy from the drop-down menu.
3. Now scroll down and click on Deactivate my account at the bottom of the page.
4. Read the account deactivation information, then click Deactivate @YourUsername.
4. Enter your password when prompted.
5. Click Deactivate account to verify that you want to deactivate your account.
Twitter will retain your user data for 30 days and then it will be permanently delete your Twitter account. You can reactivate your account at any point within 30 days by logging back in.